Physical Address

304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124

2024 ESPY Awards: Your Essential TV and Streaming Guide

Sports fans, this awards show is for you! Get ready to tune in to the 2024 ESPYS very soon. The abbreviation stands for “Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly Award” which is exciting as many of the awards shows are more in television, movies, and music. But this one is dedicated to athletes who also deserve recognition and praise!

The 2024 ESPY Awards air live tonight, July 11, 2024 starting at 8 p.m. ET. And the ceremony is set to be three hours long, so be sure to get comfortable. It’s going to be a long, but fun, night. The event is taking place at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles, California with tennis star Serena Williams at the helm for hosting duties for the first time. Ready to learn more details like where to watch, who’s nominated, and which celebs are presenting? Read on below!

The goal of the awards ceremony is to bring together the top athletes in sports and entertainment, look back at achievements from the past year, and recognize and honor those major achievements. It’s also meant to raise awareness and money for the V Foundation for Cancer research which is a charity founded by ESPN, as well as late basketball coach Jim Valvano back in 1993 when the ESPY Awards first started, per a press release.

The 2024 ESPYS will air live this evening on ABC from 8 p.m. ET to 11 p.m. ET. So if you live on the west coast, be sure to set your alarms for 5 p.m. PT. And my fellow Midwesterners, we’ll be tuning in starting at 7 p.m. CT.

Now of course cable is the easiest way to get access to ABC, but it’s not the only one. We shared all the platforms that provide the network below:


Prices and Packages


Pro: $74.99/month

Elite: $84.99/month

Premier: $94.99/month

Latino: $32.99/month


Entertainment: $69.99/month

Choice: $84.99/month

Ultimate: $114.99/month

Premier: $159.99/month

YouTube TV


Hulu + Live TV

Live TV Only: $75.99/month

Hulu (With Ads) + Live TV, Disney+ (With Ads) and ESPN+ (With Ads): $76.99/month

Hulu (With Ads) + Live TV, Disney+ (No Ads) and ESPN+ (With Ads): $81.99/month

Hulu (No Ads) + Live TV, Disney+ (No Ads) and ESPN+ (With Ads): $89.99/month

Sling TV

Orange: $40/month (does not include ABC)

Blue: $45/month (includes ABC)
* Available in most cities

So there you have it! ABC can be accessed through five different online platforms like Fubo TV and Hulu + Live TV. Technically these are considered to be streamers. However if you’re looking to watch on a direct streaming platform like regular Hulu or Max, the awards show will not be available there. The ceremony is just going to be broadcast on ABC.

It’s not known whether the ESPYS will be added to Hulu tomorrow though. So be sure to check the streamer to see. If you have cable, then you could use your credentials to watch the show on the ESPN streaming hub. But, this comes with the catch that you need to have a cable provider and blackout restrictions apply. Honestly, your best bet is to just get yourself access to ABC with one of the online platforms, many of which offer free trials if you want to a workaround paying for a subscription.

There’s a great mix of actors and sports celebs who will be taking the stage to present the awards. Those include Abbott Elementary star Quinta Brunson, actor Rob Lowe, singer GloRilla, retired basketball star Candance Parker, NASCAR driver Ryan Blaney, and more. Check out the list below:

The event will also be honoring three individuals with three special awards. The Arthur Ashe Award for Courage will be presented to former NFL safety Steve Gleason; the Jimmy V Award for Perseverance goes to University of South Carolina women’s basketball head coach Dawn Staley; and the Pat Tillman Award for Service will be given to Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex.

There’s a total of 22 categories including Best Athlete in Men’s and Women’s Sports, Best Team, and more. Those who are up for a win for the first time are Haleigh Bryant, Coco Gauff, C.J. Stroud, Juju Watkins, and Victor Wembanyama, per a press release. I’m also excited to see Simone Biles nominated too! Check out the full list below:

Best Athlete – Men’s Sports
Patrick Mahomes (Kansas City Chiefs)
Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles Dodgers)
Scottie Scheffler (Golf)
Connor McDavid (Edmonton Oilers)

Best Athlete – Women’s Sports
Caitlin Clark (Iowa Women’s Basketball)
Coco Gauff (Tennis)
Nelly Korda (Golf)
A’ja Wilson (Las Vegas Aces)

Best Breakthrough Athlete
Haleigh Bryant (LSU Gymnastics)
J. Stroud (Houston Texans)
Juju Watkins (USC Women’s Basketball)
Victor Wembanyama (San Antonio Spurs)

Best Record-Breaking Performance
Christian McCaffrey’s (49ers) record-breaking touchdown streak
Caitlin Clark becoming NCAA’s All-Time Scoring Leader
Tara VanDerveer (Stanford) becomes NCAA’s most-winning coach
Max Verstappen wins his 10th consecutive race

Best Championship Performance
College Football MVPs Blake Corum and Will Johnson (Michigan)
Lacrosse player Kayla Martello (Boston College)
NWSL MVP Midge Purce (NJ/NY Gotham FC)
NBA player Jaylen Brown (Boston Celtics)

Best Comeback Athlete
Simone Biles
Paige Bueckers (University of Connecticut)
Joe Flacco (Cleveland Browns)
Zion Williamson (New Orleans Pelicans)

Best Play
Jayda Coleman sending Oklahoma to a 4th straight championship
Anthony Edwards’ Dunk of the Year
Alabama’s victory over Auburn
Lamar Jackson catching his own pass

Best Team
South Carolina Gamecocks – NCAA Women’s Basketball
Kansas City Chiefs – NFL
Michigan Wolverines – NCAA Football
Las Vegas Aces – WNBA
University of Connecticut Huskies – NCAA Men’s Basketball
Oklahoma Sooners – NCAA Softball
Boston Celtics – NBA
Florida Panthers – NHL
Texas Rangers – MLB

Best College Athlete – Men’s Sports
Jayden Daniels (LSU Football)
Zach Edey (Purdue Men’s Basketball)
Ousmane Sylla (Clemson Soccer)
Pat Kavanagh (Notre Dame Lacrosse)

Best College Athlete – Women’s Sports
Haleigh Bryant (LSU Gymnastics)
Caitlin Clark (Iowa Basketball)
Sarah Franklin (Wisconsin Volleyball)
Izzy Scane (Northwestern Lacrosse)

Best Athlete with a Disability
Jaydin Blackwell – World Champion Sprinter
Ezra Frech – World Champion High Jumper
Brenna Huckaby – Snowboarding Champion
Oksana Masters – Cross-Country Skier/Hand Cyclist

Best NFL Player
Myles Garrett (Cleveland Browns)
Lamar Jackson (Baltimore Ravens)
Patrick Mahomes (Kansas City Chiefs)
Christian McCaffrey (San Francisco 49ers)

Best MLB Player
Ronald Acuña (Atlanta Braves)
Gerrit Cole (New York Yankees)
Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles Angels)
Corey Seager (Texas Rangers)

Best NHL Player
Nikita Kucherov (Tampa Bay Lightning)
Nathan MacKinnon (Colorado Avalanche)
Auston Matthews (Toronto Maple Leafs)
Connor McDavid (Edmonton Oilers)

Best NBA Player
Luka Dončić (Dallas Mavericks)
Shai Gilgeous-Alexander (Oklahoma City Thunder)
Nicola Jokić (Denver Nuggets)
Jayson Tatum (Boston Celtics)

Best WNBA Player
Napheesa Collier (Minnesota Lynx)
Breanna Stewart (New York Liberty)
Alyssa Thomas (Connecticut Sun)
A’ja Wilson (Las Vegas Aces)

Best Driver
Ryan Blaney (NASCAR)
Matt Hagan (NHRA)
Álex Palou (IndyCar)
Max Verstappen (F1)

Best UFC Fighter
Islam Makhachev
Sean O’Malley
Alex Pereira
Zhang Weili

Best Boxer
Terence Crawford
Seniesa Estrada
Naoya Inoue
Oleksandr Usyk

Best Soccer Player
Aitana Bonmatí (Spain)
Naomi Girma (USWNT)
Vinicius Junior (Brazil/Real Madrid)
Kylian Mbappé (France/Real Madrid)

Best Golfer
Nelly Korda
Xander Schauffele
Scottie Scheffler
Lilia Vu

Best Tennis Player
Carlos Alcaraz
Novak Djokovic
Coco Gauff
Iga Swiatk

The 2024 ESPY Awards air live tonight, July 11, 2024 starting at 8 p.m. ET on ABC.

Source: ESPN