Any important application that wants to remain so must be constantly updated, implementing new features to meet the demands of users, in addition to trying to anticipate what they will want in the future. And although WhatsApp is not as advanced in this sense as Telegram, it has brought us several important news in recent months to meet the demand of the 2,500 million users it has per month -basically more than 1/4 of the total population of this world.
We are going to review five of them that have reached the Android version, starting with the most recent:
Photos and videos for one-time viewing
For a week and a half, Anyone can send an image via WhatsApp and schedule it to self-delete whenever they want. And yes, that’s what that number that suddenly appeared last night in the bar to compose the message is for.
How does it work? That easy:
- open WhatsApp and enter a cat
- In the bar to write a message press the camera icon to open the most recent gallery of photos and images saved on your mobile
- Click on one or more to choose them
- Do you see that in the bar to write a caption or message there is a ‘1’ on the right that did not appear before? If you give it, you activate the option so that the recipient can only see that photo once.
- As soon as I have seen it, the image will be removed from the chat and you will not be able to open it again
Facts about sending temporary images:
- When you send photos and videos by activating the function, They can only be viewed once and you are notified when the recipient has opened them.
- When photos and videos are set to be viewed once, the content disappears after you close it.
- And you deactivate reading receipts, the recipient will still see if you have opened the photo or video set to view once, but you won’t be able to see when the recipient opens yours. In groups, you can see when other participants open photos that expire, even if you have disabled read receipts.
- The recipient could save the photo or video making snapshot screen or video, and WhatsApp will not warn you because there is no detection of screenshots.
- You can too share photos and videos set for one-time viewing in groups, and you can see who has opened them in Message information.
- Contacts blocked in common groups can keep opening those photos and videos– In fact, they can’t text or call you, but they can interact with you in groups.
- If you send a photo using the see once feature to people who don’t have this feature turned on, the see once feature will continue to work and they will only be able to view it once.
‘Leaving’ a group without leaving: Vacation Mode
Also premiered last July, with Vacation Mode not only silences any type of notification of chat messages that you have silenced, but also disconnects all possible notifications, and you can also archive them to not read more. For all intents and purposes it will be as if you had left it, although you are still part of it.
To activate it do the following:
- open WhatsApp
- Look for the three vertical dots icon in the upper right, click and open Settings
- Go into Chats
- Go down and look for the option ‘Archived Chats’: If you activate it, those conversations that you have archived are hidden and will not bother you anymore. If you remove it, even if the chat is archived, if someone writes in it, you will see it appear in the list of your conversations again.
You will see that Archived chats are moved to the top of the conversation list under one heading: ‘Archived Chats’. If you touch this option you will be able to enter and see all the listed conversations that you decided to archive, and also another tab called ‘Notifications’.
Here you have 2 different options:
- Notify new messages: Activated by default so that you know who writes to you even if you have it archived, if you decide to deactivate this function, you will be activating the Vacation mode, so archived chats will continue to remain in the archive when new messages arrive and you won’t know about it.
- Automatically hide inactive chats: it is an extension of vacation mode. When enabled, If a chat is older than 6 months, it will be automatically archived.
Join a group call already started
Group calls are becoming more and more popular, especially after everything we have and continue to live. Last month, WhatsApp rolled out a new feature that allows you to join a group call, even if it has already started, something that certainly takes the pressure off of having to answer the group call as soon as it begins.
With this new feature, If someone doesn’t answer the call when the phone rings, they can still join in later. Plus, as long as the call is ongoing, you can get out and back in whenever you want. In addition, you have a screen with information about the call: it shows who is already on the call and who was invited to participate, but has not joined yet. And even if you click “Ignore”, you can join later from the calls tab in WhatsApp.
Transfer WhatsApp chats from iPhone iOS to Android
Announced just last week, with the presentation at the Galaxy Unpacked event of the new Samsung Galaxy Z Fold3 and Z Flip 3, WhatsApp finally brings to Android the ability to transfer your chat history between Apple and Android iOS devices. This means that if you change from an iPhone to an Android mobile you will not lose all the chat history of your old device on WhatsApp, which until now was a very uncomfortable problem in the service.
The new tool allows you to migrate the entire chat history, with its messages, voice notes and photos, between Android and iOS, or between iOS and Android, and it will be available to all smartphone users, albeit progressively, having the exclusive premiere of precisely the newly presented Samsung mobiles.
This means that Users will be able to transfer their chat history from iOS with the help of Smart Switch. The tool will arrive in the coming weeks, and will be compatible at first with a Samsung device that has Android 10 or a higher version installed. Later you can migrate to iOS from Android. And we imagine that it will be released so that all Android brands can use it as is.
Your WhatsApp account on 4 different devices
With function WhatsApp multi-device can link up to 4 devices to one account without the need for an active internet connection on the main device -that is, you do not have to have your mobile on to use your WhatsApp on another device. But yes at the time of linking the devices, since in this way the chats and account data can be transferred to the other computers. The conversations remain end-to-end encrypted.
All messages will continue to have end-to-end encryption, something guaranteed by Facebook, which is a breakthrough since you can use your account on 4 devices simultaneously registered with the same phone number and able to receive messages each on their own.
Send WhatsApps even without battery on the mobile
With this new feature, you can now use your WhatsApp even if the phone battery is dead or the terminal off, as they have pointed out since the official Facebook blog. Each complementary device will connect to your WhatsApp account independently, keeping the same level of privacy and security through end-to-end encryption that WhatsApp users expect.
The current WhatsApp experience for complementary devices on the web, macOS, Windows and Portal uses a smartphone app as the main device, which makes the phone the source of truth for all user data and the only device capable of encrypting data. end-to-end messages for another user, initiate calls, etc. Complementary devices “Maintain a persistent secure connection to the phone and they just reflect their content on their own user interface ”.
The new multi-device architecture of WhatsApp removes these obstacles as it does not require a smartphone to be the source of truth, while keeping user data in sync and private safely and seamlessly.