All Game of the Year (GOTY) winners in the history of The Game Awards

Share your love

The Game Awards 2021 is here. After a year marked by the pandemic that prevented the event from being held in person – it was digitally connecting with three different cities – the most media awards gala in the video game sector is held at dawn from Thursday, December 9 to Friday, December 10 with the goal of celebrating excellence in the video game world. And yes, we will meet this year’s GOTY, among many other categories. However What were the GOTY of previous editions? We review all the winners of the event under this name, from its origins to 2020.

It may interest you:

  • All about The Game Awards 2021: date, time, duration, games and nominees
  • The Game Awards 2021 Reveals All Nominees By Category; complete list
  • The Game Awards 2021: schedule and how to stream online

A little history about The Game Awards

The first thing to make clear is that The Game AwardsAs such, it has existed since 2014. Previously, since 2003 and until the edition that took place in 2013, they were Spike VGA (which became the Spike VGX), but the format did not finish starting, did not have the support and repercussion that year and, after a fall in both audience and economic return, Spike TV withdrew from the fight to take over this equivalent of the Oscars of the video game.

This is where the name of Geoff Keighley comes into play, a journalist with television experience and whose participation in the Spike VGA led him to lead the evolution of the format himself, which would not only change its name but also be equipped with a packaging of another category, added to the fight for exclusives, brands and luxury guests. Make it a show no video game fan should miss.

Read Also   Security update for Photoshop Windows and macOS

Whether it has succeeded or not is subjective, as well as whether we agree on which video game wins the award in each category. What is clear is that The Game Awards has been gaining weight over the years, there are tens of millions of people following the gala in each edition and, to make matters worse, the number of world premieres or world exclusives grows exponentially. Names like The Witcher 3, Uncharted 4, Mario Maker, Bloodborne, The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, SoulCalibur VI, Crash Team Racing: Nitro-Fueled, Devil May Cry 5, The Outer Worlds and countless others have been featured there. or they have offered news of great importance for their studies. Without going any further, in 2019 Xbox Series X was revealed in style. What awaits us this year 2021? We will know in a few hours.

All winners of The Game Awards (2003-2020)

Nominees for Best Game of the Year 2021 are as follows: Deathloop, It Takes Two, Metroid Dread, Psychonauts 2, Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart Y Resident Evil Village. In previous editions, these were the winners:

Spike VGA/Spike VGX

  • 2003 – Madden NFL 2004
  • 2004 – GTA San Andreas
  • 2005 – Resident Evil 5
  • 2006 – TES IV: Oblivion
  • 2007 – Bioshock
  • 2008 – Grand Theft Auto IV
  • 2009 – Uncharted 2
  • 2010 – Red Dead Redemption
  • 2011 – TES V: Skyrim
  • 2012 – The Walking Dead
  • 2013 – Grand Theft Auto V

The Game Awards

  • 2014 – Dragon Age: Inquisition
  • 2015 – The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt
  • 2016 – Overwatch
  • 2017 – The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
  • 2018 – God of War
  • 2019 – Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice
  • 2020 – The Last of Us Parte II
Read Also   Shakira upsets her fans after appearing dancing with Milan and Sasha, the theme of J Balvin


Article Source

Share your love