Press "Enter" to skip to content

Delete or deactivate a Facebook account, this is how you do it and you choose

Being on social media can be as fun as it is stressful, and when you’re having a bad day online, it’s easy to think that “I close the account and take **** a whole season “. The good thing is that you don’t have to lose your account, because the different social media platforms may offer to deactivate it until you decide if you really want to return or not. Like Facebook does.

The bad? The amount of impediments to the user that the Facebook social network puts precisely for those who want to close their account, delete it, period.

Deactivate your Facebook account

And it is that for something Facebook is the No. 1 network in the world and the one that defined the very concept of ‘social network’. The fewer users you lose per month, the better, and therefore you have created options to avoid this. For example, it offers you the alternative of deactivating your account, allowing you to reactivate it whenever you want without having lost anything. And what is better: no user can see your profile or search for you while you are deactivated in FB.

How is it deactivated?

  1. Click on the down arrow icon, at the top right of any Facebook page.
  2. Choose Setting.
  3. Click on General in the left column.
  4. Click on Manage account, Then in Deactivate your account and follow the instructions to confirm deactivation

When the account is deactivated:

  • No one else will be able to see your profile.
  • Some information (such as messages you sent to friends) may still be visible.
  • Your friends may still see your name on their friends list. It can only be seen by your friends and only on your friends list.
  • Group admins may still see your posts and comments, along with your name.

Delete your Facebook account

We have thought better of it. We do not want to deactivate the account, we want to delete it directly, delete it. But here the social network demonstrates again how to make the user think about it, since when requesting the elimination, FB gives us 30 days, a whole month to think about whether we really want to leave their network.

The more time you have to think about whether or not to permanently cancel the account, the more options there are without a doubt for you to come back and not delete it. If the decision was made in an act of rage or because you were very burned out from the networks, it may be that in as long as 30 days you will want to return.

Keep in mind that if you decide to delete your account:

  • You will not be able to reactivate your account.
  • Your profile, your photos, your publications, your videos and everything you have added will be permanently deleted. You will not be able to recover what you have added.
  • Yes you will not be able to use Facebook Messenger.
  • Will not be able use Facebook login in other apps in which you have registered with your Facebook account, such as Spotify or Pinterest. You may need to contact the apps and websites to get those accounts back.
  • Some data, such as messages you sent to your friends, may still be visible to them after you delete your account. Copies of the messages you sent are kept in your friends’ inboxes.

How to permanently delete your Facebook account

Up to 3 months of waiting

If you want to delete your Facebook account you must bear in mind that once it has been deleted you cannot regain access. On Facebook “We delay the removal until a few days after requesting it.” The removal request is canceled if you log back into your Facebook account during this time.

It may take up to 90 days for the stored data to be deleted in backup systems. During this time, you cannot access your information on Facebook. Some information, such as message history, is not stored in your account. This means that your friends may still have access to the messages you sent after deleting the account.

  1. Click on the settings icon, at the top right of any Facebook page.
  2. Click on Setting.
  3. Click on Your Facebook information in the left column.
  4. Click on Delete your account and your information and then Delete my account.
  5. As a shortcut, try enter directly in this link, which takes you to the section itself.

.

Article Source

Disclaimer: This article is generated from the feed and not edited by our team.