Physical Address

304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124

Galaxie 500 Unveils New Compilation with Two Unreleased Songs: Stream

Galaxie 500 has announced an exciting new archival compilation, Uncollected Noise New York ’88-’90. Set for release on September 20th via Silver Current Records, this double album promises to be a treasure trove for fans, featuring a mix of B-sides, outtakes, and non-album material, including eight never-before-heard tracks.

To tease the release, Galaxie 500 has shared two previously unreleased songs: “Shout You Down” and “I Wanna Live.” These tracks reveal the rich diversity of the band’s sound. “Shout You Down” is an energetic, jangly indie punk track with echoes of The Velvet Underground, whereas “I Wanna Live” is a softer, yet equally quirky offering.

The compilation marks the first time in nearly three decades that new material from Galaxie 500 has been unearthed. The process of going through the old tapes was like opening a time capsule for the band members. Naomi Yang, the bassist, reflected on the experience with nostalgia, noting, “There is a sweetness in hearing the progression of us finding our own sound, our own collective voice. The Proustian power of music… Making the bass my singing voice.”

Drummer Damon Krukowski echoed this sentiment, sharing, “Opening up these tape boxes was like looking into an old journal or datebook. I had forgotten most of this happened at all, but it only took a few quick details to put me right back in the drum seat.”

Singer and guitarist Dean Wareham added, “I can see why we left some of these songs in the vaults, but there is pleasure in hearing them today. They sound very alive, like Galaxie 500 playing in the brick-walled room that was Noise New York.”

Uncollected Noise New York ’88-’90 offers a unique glimpse into the band’s past, archiving a wide array of tracks that capture different facets of their music. The compilation includes:

01. Shout You Down (previously unreleased)
02. See Through Glasses (previously unreleased)
03. On the Floor (Noise NY version) (previously unreleased)
04. Can’t Believe It’s Me (Ryko Box Set bonus CD, otherwise unreleased)
05. Oblivious (Ryko Box Set bonus CD, Chemical Imbalance fanzine 7-inch)
06. King of Spain (Today CD bonus track, Aurora Records 7-inch B-side)
07. Jerome (Ryko Box Set bonus CD, otherwise unreleased)
08. Song in 3 (Ryko Box Set bonus CD, otherwise unreleased)
09. Crazy (Ryko Box Set bonus CD, European Today CD bonus track)
10. I Wanna Live (previously unreleased)
11. I Will Walk (previously unreleased)
12. Cold Night (On Fire CD bonus track, Rough Trade BlueThunder EP)
13. Ceremony (On Fire CD bonus track, Rough Trade BlueThunder EP)
14. Never Get to Heaven (previously unreleased)
15. Maracas Song (Ryko Box Set bonus CD, otherwise unreleased)
16. Victory Garden (On Fire CD bonus track, Rough Trade BlueThunder EP)
17. Blue Thunder (w/sax) (Ryko Box Set bonus CD, Rough Trade EP)
18. Cheese and Onions (Ryko BoxSet bonus CD, Rutles Highway Revisited Shimmy Disc LP)
19. Fourth of July (video mix)
20. Cactus (previously unreleased)
21. Moonshot (previously unreleased)
22. Them (Ryko Box Set bonus CD, otherwise unreleased)
23. Final Day (Ryko Box Set bonus CD, otherwise unreleased)
24. Here She Comes Now (This Is Our Music CD bonus track, Rough Trade Fourth of July 12-inch B-side)

Fans can pre-order Uncollected Noise New York ’88-’90 and experience this unique, historical compilation that provides a fresh look at Galaxie 500’s impressive range and evolution as a band.

Source: Consequence