Physical Address

304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124

Have Fans Redeemed ‘Van Halen III’ with Their New Version?

Two devoted Van Halen fans have unveiled their re-imagined version of the band’s 1998 album, Van Halen III. Their efforts aim to demonstrate just how outstanding the original, yet troubled, record could have been.

The reworked album trims the original 12-track, 65-minute release down to a more concise 10-track, 41-minute experience. Each song has been adjusted to accentuate its most robust elements, accompanied by an alternate track listing.

Musician Kevin Brown and podcaster Scott Monroe were careful to highlight that their project was not meant to disrespect Eddie Van Halen’s original work. The original album was affected by numerous non-musical factors, including the guitarist’s addiction struggles at that time.

Van Halen III was an album I dismissed for years,” Brown shared with Van Halen News Desk. “When Scott asked me if I’d be interested in trying to edit the songs to tighten them up, I was intrigued.” He added that the process provided him with “a much, much deeper appreciation for an album that is daring, eclectic, and unlike anything Eddie had tried before.”

Newspaper editor Monroe contributed his journalistic approach to the project. He had always felt that Van Halen III was underrated. “How could we edit the album to something more tightly focused on its strengths?” he pondered. He identified parts of each song that he considered unnecessary or counter-productive, such as specific pre-choruses or, in the case of “How Many Say I,” all of the vocals.

The fans’ remake of Van Halen III is set to feature in a series titled Regarding Van Halen III. This series will include guest speakers, discussing one track per episode.

Monroe emphasized that their project is not intended as criticism. “I came at this from a place of love,” Monroe stated. “This exercise is about re-imagining how the music could have been further molded… and perhaps made more accessible to the Van Halen fanbase.”

Listen to the ‘Regarding Van Halen III’ Remake

‘Van Halen III’ Fan Remake Track List

1. “Without You”
2. “One I Want”
3. “Fire in The Hole”
4. “Neworld”
5. “Josephina”
6. “Dirty Water Dog”
7. “Ballot or the Bullet”
8. “From Afar”
9. “How Many Say I”
10. “Year to the Day”

The re-imagined track listing aims to streamline the album, focusing on what the duo feels are its best aspects. By trimming the fat and reorganizing the structure, they hope to present a version of Van Halen III that fans old and new can appreciate.

This reworked effort gives a fresh perspective on the legacy of a somewhat polarizing album. The project also shows how fans’ love and dedication can offer new ways to appreciate and re-experience classic music.

The podcast series promises to delve deeper into each track, offering insights and discussions that will enrich the understanding of the album’s complex history. Through these episodes, both Brown and Monroe aim to foster a broader appreciation for an album that took significant musical risks.

Indeed, the re-imagined version seeks to strip away the non-musical influences that clouded the original release, revealing the core brilliance of Eddie Van Halen’s work. Fans of the band and music enthusiasts alike will find this reworked album to be a testament to the enduring power of artistic innovation and fan devotion.

The initiative underscores a simple yet profound truth: music holds endless possibilities for reinterpretation and discovery. Even albums that may have been initially overlooked can find new life and relevance through the passion and creativity of dedicated fans.

The release of this project is likely to spark conversations and debates among Van Halen’s loyal followers, encouraging them to revisit Van Halen III with fresh ears. Ultimately, this re-imagined album serves as a heartfelt tribute to the band’s influence and the lasting impact of their music.

Source: Van Halen News Desk