“How ‘Across the Spider-Verse’ Responds to Past Attacks on Miles Morales, According to Directors”

Share your love

The Directors of Across the Spider-Verse, Joaquim Dos Santos, Kemp Powers, and Justin K. Thompson, have revealed that their film is a direct response to racist fans who rejected the introduction of Miles Morales, an African-American and Puerto Rican teenager who became the new Spider-Man in 2011.

Spider-Man: A New Universe, the first installment of this saga, introduces us to Miles Morales, an ordinary boy who transforms into Spider-Man after being bitten by a radioactive spider that gave Peter Parker his powers. Alongside a team of spiders from other dimensions, Miles must save the world from danger and redefine what it means to be a hero.

Despite early rejection from some fans, Miles’ popularity grew quickly, and in 2018, he was the protagonist of Spider-Man: A New Universe. The film’s innovative animation style, diverse cast, and representation earned it several awards, including an Oscar for Best Animated Feature in 2019.

The highly anticipated sequel, Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse, follows Miles’ journey as he navigates a new adventure in the Multiverse. Along with stellar voices such as Oscar Isaac, Hailee Steinfeld, and Jake Johnson, the film promises fast-paced action, intense emotions, and a fascinating exploration of Spider-Man’s many universes.

In response to criticisms of Miles Morales, Thompson asserted that Spider-Man is a symbol for everyone and should represent the world’s diversity. Across the Spider-Verse is a response to those too closed-minded to embrace a new character and a new interpretation of a beloved hero.

Through its thrilling plot, outstanding animation, and diverse representation, Across the Spider-Verse proves that anyone can wear the mask and be a hero, regardless of their background.

Read Also   "Discover the 5 Objects in Charles III's Coronation Ceremony"
Share your love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *