Paying on the Internet is something that everyone already has more than assimilated. There are many stores that have their showcase on the network and many receive customers every day willing to pay the stipulated price. But many still mistrust even secure sites, an important precaution to navigate in this world, and so they resort to tricks like using PayPal.
But you may no longer want to be part of the online payment service and that is why We teach you how to delete your PayPal account.
Why close a PayPal account?
PayPal is one of the most widespread online payment applications in the world. Not only will it serve as a virtual wallet, it is also a payment method that gives you many guarantees such as recovering your money in case of having been the victim of a fraudulent operation if possible.
So, if it is so good, why should it be closed? We will not be the ones to put the exact reason, but there is one thing that you cannot eliminate if it is this way. We are talking about the transaction history, which records the movement of money that you have made with the service. The downside is that the history is permanent and you can only remove it if you cancel your PayPal account. There is no other way, so you have to be very sure of making this important decision.
How to close your PayPal account
Now that you know the most compelling reason for delete your PayPal accountYou just have to follow the steps that we tell you below:
- Click the Settings icon next to “Sign off” -the one that is shaped like a gear
- When you are inside ‘Account Options ” look for the option ‘Click Close your account’
- If PayPal asks you, enter your bank account number.
- Click on the Close Account option.
A new screen will automatically appear that says that it will send you an extract of the movements you have made through the application. This will be sent to the email with which you log in, so you will receive it in a few minutes. This serves both for normal users and for companies that operate with PayPal, but in any case you will enter the same menu and you will have to follow the same steps so that your account is completely closed and no one else can use it or review the history of your purchases.
Things to keep in mind when closing an account
- Before closing your account, you must withdraw the funds from your PayPal balance if you have one.
- You can transfer funds electronically to your bank account or ask Paypal to send you a check. (Paypal will charge you a fee of $ 1.50 to send a check)
- If you have an email address on your account that you haven’t confirmed, remove it from your account before closing it.
- Closing an account must be done from the browser version of Paypal. The function to close account is not yet available through the mobile app.
In which cases you cannot close your Paypal account
- You cannot close your account if you have limitations
- You cannot close your account if you have unsolved problems (any dispute, return, etc)
- You cannot close your account if you have balance (you must withdraw it before)