Site icon Market Research Telecast

The States that Surpass the Federal Minimum Wage Requirement

How Minimum Wage Works: Federal & State

How Minimum Wage Works: Federal & State

State Minimum Wages: A Look at the Current Landscape

Currently, the federal minimum wage in the United States is $7.25 per hour. It had its last raise 14 years ago, marking the longest period without a raise since the base wage was created in 1938.

State Minimum Wage Laws

However, each state has implemented laws to legislatively adopt the national minimum or set a higher figure. According to the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), 30 states, plus the District of Columbia, have adopted wages above the federal minimum. Some of these entities have tied their increases to the cost of living to keep up with inflation, while others have legislation that establishes automatic increases at the beginning of each year.

Minimum Wage Increases

On January 1, this year, 23 states raised their minimum wages based on increases adjusted for the cost of living or as part of scheduled increases that, according to their laws, take effect at the beginning of each calendar year.

Alaska: $10.85

Arizona: $13.85

Arkansas: $11

California: $15.50

Colorado: $13.65

Connecticut: $15

South Dakota: $10.80

District of Columbia: $17

Delaware: $11.75

Florida: $11 / $12 from September 30

Hawaii: $10.10

Illinois: $13

Maine: $13.80

Maryland: $13.25

Massachusetts: $15

Michigan: $10.10

Minnesota: $11.25 if employee is offered qualified health benefits and $11.25 if not offered

New Jersey: $14.13

New York: $14.20

New Mexico: $12

Ohio: $10.10

Oregon: $14.20

Rhode Island: $13

Vermont: $13.18

West Virginia: $8.75

Virginia: $12

Washington: $15.74

States without Legislatively Adopted State Minimum Wages

On the other hand, five states have not legislatively adopted a state minimum wage. These states are: Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Tennessee, in which the federal minimum applies. All other states continue to implement the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour as the state minimum:

Exit mobile version