This is the function of Google Maps that records everything you do; How to deactivate it?

Esta función de Google Maps registra y espía tus lugares y ubicaciones, cómo desactivar Cronología

Although there are thousands of companies and hundreds of them tremendously important, none is like Google, the largest giant on the Internet today, the author of applications and services that we use (and depend on daily) as Gmail, Google Calendar, el sistema Android of smartphones or the search engine Google, owner and lord indexer of the Internet of the surface.

And it is that Google accumulates enormous power, which entails knowing a large amount about the data of its users, including where they have been, gone or will return.

Google Maps timeline

Recently updated, the Google Map timelines shows an estimate of the sites you have visited and the routes you have traveled based on your location history – open the link above and you can check it out. In Chronology you can see all the places where you have been in a specific country or city, and even show them in categories such as restaurants, shops, attractions, hotels and airports.

The good thing is that you can edit your timeline at any time. You can also remove location history, including specific time periods, from your timeline at any time. According to Google, the timeline is private, so “Only you can see it, and you can access it from a mobile phone or a computer”.

See the trips you have made from a PC

  1. Open Google Maps on your computer.
  2. Sign in with the same Google account that you use on your mobile device.
  3. At the top left, click Menu.
  4. Click on Your Timeline – the broken line icon
  5. To see another date, choose a day, a month and a year at the top.
  6. To see the sites you’ve recently visited, click Menu> Your sites> Visited.

See the trips you have made from an Android or iOS mobile

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app.
  2. Tap your profile picture or initial
  3. Click on Your timeline -the broken line icon
  4. To view another day or month, touch the Show calendar
  5. swipe left or right and plays on a specific day.

History of Locations

According to the company, the location history is “an option in your Google account where the sites you go to are saved with each mobile device that meets these requirements “:

  • Have the logged into your Google account
  • Have activated location history.
  • Have location reporting enabled.

When you activate the location history, “you will be able to enjoy several advantages in Google products and services, such as custom maps, the recommendations based on sites you’ve visited, help finding your phone, real-time traffic notifications for your regular trips and more useful announcements. “

But, what if you don’t want that, for Google to know exactly what happens at each moment, where you have been and can almost guess where you will go? If you don’t want to give more of your data to the Chronology function?

In theory, location history is off by default in your Google account and it will only be activated if you enable the setting. You can pause the location history at any time from the section Controls your account activity of Google. You can also control what is saved in the location history and see the places where you have been in the Google Maps timelineYou can also edit or delete information from this section.

How to disconnect Location History

And PC

  1. open this link that will take you to your My Activity page on Google (you must be logged in with your account)
  2. In the menu on the left, click Activity Controls
  3. Disconnect Activity on the Web and in Applications (put it on pause)
  4. Go down and disconnect the Location history. With this, in theory Google stops spying on you and adding data to its search and map services. You can take a look below since you are on this page, and disconnect other Google services such as Voice and Audio Activity -recommended because Google records everything we say to the virtual assistant after the ‘Ok Google’.

In android

  1. Search and enter the option Settings, and then on Google
  2. Inside the Google section search Google account and click on it
  3. Now you are in Data and personalization. Inside it you will see the options for disconnect Activity on the Web and in Applications and also Location History -They are the first two.

How to Clear Location History

From Google Maps

  1. On your Android device, open the Google Maps application.
  2. At the top left, tap Menu (icon of the three horizontal stripes) > Your timeline.
  3. At the top right, tap More (3 vertical dots icon) > Settings and privacy.
  4. Under “Location Settings,” tap Delete all location history.
  5. Follow the instructions that appear on the screen.

From a Web Browser

  1. In your web browser, open the Google Maps timeline.
  2. Touch Remove (trash can icon).
  3. Follow the instructions that appear on the screen.

How to delete location history automatically

You can automatically delete location history that is more than 3 or 18 months old, and although Google will still know about you, you won’t have to worry about deleting the data if you want to keep the history turned on:

And PC

  1. On a computer, go to Your timeline.
  2. At the bottom right, click Settings> Delete location history automatically.
  3. Follow the instructions that appear on the screen.

On Android or iOS

  1. On your Android or iOS device, open the Google Maps app.
  2. Tap your profile picture or initial> Your timeline.
  3. At the top right, tap More> Settings and privacy.
  4. Go to “Location Settings”.
  5. Tap Delete location history automatically.
  6. Follow the instructions that appear on the screen.

Use Google Maps in Incognito mode

When you activate incognito mode in Maps, all your activity on that device, such as the places you are looking for, will no longer be stored in your Google account Y “it will not be used to personalize your experience on Maps “. This guarantees greater privacy in case we do not want someone to see a specific destination, search or route. Even to hide it from Google itself, which will not spy on us in this way and the results of our navigation or search will not be reflected, just like in Chrome.

How to enable / disable Incognito mode on Android and iOS

  1. On your phone or tablet, open the app de Google Maps.
  2. In the upper right corner, tap your profile picture.
  3. Press Activate Incognito mode.

Here are some features that are not available in Incognito mode:

  • Everyday commute
  • For you
  • Location history
  • Tip: Location History for your entire device will stop, not just Maps.
  • Share location
  • Notifications and messages
  • Search history
  • Autocomplete suggestions
  • Google Maps contributions
  • Google Assistant microphone in navigation
  • Offline maps
  • Your places
  • Multimedia integration

.

Article Source