Underworld Movies in Chronological Order – Full List

Share your love

Do you know Twilight is not the only movie featuring Vampires and Werewolves? Do you want to watch a better and more intense story than the Twilight franchise?

If yes, the Underworld Franchise is what you need to follow!

Underworld Movies in Chronological Order – Full List

The Underworld franchise is a mind-blowing movie series depicting the never-ending conflict between two enduring rivals – Vampires and Werewolves. The movies in order are loaded with deadly encounters between the groups. The thrill and adventure that this franchise depicts have already made it gather an immense fan following. Besides this, it also features the love between two hybrids, Selene (a vampire) and Michael (a Lycan) amidst the growing rivalry between the groups.

Underworld movies are a treat to watch. The makers have put their best foot forward in bringing the thrilling elements for their audience on screen. If you haven’t watched any Underworld movies yet, now is the time.

Underworld Movies in a Chronological Order

Are you confused about which Underworld Movie you would be watching to begin your movie stampede? We clear the confusion by listing down all the parts in chronological order.

Underworld: 2003

The first installment of the franchise was released in 2003. The movie stars Kate Beckinsale, Scott Speedman, and Michael Sheen. It debuted on the big screens on the 19th of September, 2003, much before Twilight was even planned. The film runs for two hours and one minute.

Underworld Movies in Chronological Order – Full List

Underworld part one tells the story of Selena who believes that her family was murdered by the werewolves. The feeling of rage and resentment sends her on a mission to find out the grand plans of the Lycans. On her way, she captures a man, Michael, on whom the Lycans want to experiment.

Read Also   Outer Banks Season 3 Is Not Coming In May 2022

Underworld: Evolution: 2006

The second part of the movie was released three years after the first one. It featured Kate Beckinsale, Scott Speedman, and Bill Nighy in leading roles. This time, Selene and Michael try to unfold the secrets of their respective bloodlines. They come across an ancient vampire, Alexander, who tells them the history of Vampires and Lycans.

Underworld Movies in Chronological Order – Full List

In the meantime, another vampire, Markus, arrives and attacks Alexander. The duo engages in a battle because of which Alexander is mortally wounded. He asks Selene to drink his blood and provide him with hybrid powers. Now, both are ready to fight the battle.

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans: 2009

It is the third installment of the Underworld Franchise starring Martin Sheen, Bill Nighy, Rhona Mitra, and Steven Mackintosh. The movie was released on the 23rd of January, 2009.

Underworld Movies in Chronological Order – Full List

Interestingly, the third part of the movie serves as a prequel to the entire Underworld series. The film outlines the origin of the war between the Vampires and Lycans. You will also get to know the backstory of many leading players, enough to build your excitement of watching the next part.

Underworld: Endless War: 2011

This one is the first animated movie in the Underworld movie universe, spanning over a century. Endless War describes Selene, the Death Dealer, in three different time frames, beginning from 1890, and moving to 1967 and 2012, respectively.

Underworld Movies in Chronological Order – Full List

Selene goes on a mission to fight and plan to eliminate the three powerful Lycan brothers. The three brothers rule over and pose as Persian lords. She uses the rising technology and weapons to improvise her mission over the years. This endless war underworld movie is worth your time. By the end, you will want to know if the war between Lycans and Vampires ends or not?

Read Also   Kevin Spacey to pay nearly $31 million to 'House of Cards' makers due to firing from the show

Underworld: Awakening: 2012

Underworld: Awakening is the fourth part of the Underworld franchise. It was released on the 12th of January, 2012, and the fans couldn’t keep calm. The movie starred the same characters with the new cast like Michael Ealy and Theo James joining the old one.

Underworld Movies in Chronological Order – Full List

Humanity is now aware of the existence of vampires and werewolves. It leads the humans to join a war against these monsters. Selene is newly freed, and now she must contend and compete with this development. In this part of the movie, she comes to terms with the biggest secret of her life. (SSSShhh, we are not telling you that)

Underworld: Blood Wars: 2016

It is the last one from the Underworld Franchise. The final installment of the series shows that Vampires and Lycans are nearly extinct in the underworld blood wars, and both species are bent on hunting Selene down.

Underworld Movies in Chronological Order – Full List

Selene and David, a young vampire, visit the Eastern Coven and learns that David is the legitimate heir to him. Selene is separated from her daughter Eve. Lycans are successful in tracking down Selene and attacking Coven. During the fight, Selene also learns that one of the Lycans kill Michael. Vampires win this blood wars fight, and Selene and David are selected as new Vampire Elders.

Eve is united with her long-lost mother. The movie shows a happy ending!

Some Lesser-Known Facts about the Underworld Franchise

  • The fans enjoyed all the six parts of the movie. However, unfortunately, the makers are not planning any sequel as of now. The actress playing the lead role herself mentioned the same.
  • In the beginning, the makers considered Halle Berry for the role of Selene. But she went on to play Catwoman instead. The makers said they love Halle, but now it is hard for them to imagine anyone playing Selene other than Kate. They love their lead actress a little too much.
  • Interestingly, Kate Beckinsale only agreed to play the role of the lead, Selene, in the movie after seeing the drawings of the character. She was blown away by the character’s strong persona. 
  • Beckinsale married the director of the movie, Len Wiseman, after working together on the first film. But not many people know that she was previously in a relationship with her co-star Michael Sheen.
  • Kevin Grevioux portrayed his role as a Lycan quite well in the movie. The actor refused a voice-over but used his natural voice to do so. His presence throughout Underworld has been imposing. Not a single modification or modulating has been done in his voice throughout the movie. 
  • Before the release of the first part of this franchise, author Nancy A. Collins and White Wolf, Inc. filed a lawsuit against Screen Gems, Sony Pictures, and Lakeshore Entertainment. According to them, the movie committed 17 counts of copyright infringement.
Read Also   The Murdaugh Murders – Know Everything in Detail

You can watch Underworld on Netflix. The OTT platform has recently added it.

Share your love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *