Press "Enter" to skip to content

When could WhatsApp delete a group and its history forever?

If you are the administrator of a WhatsApp group, you can delete this if you want, deleting first all its participants and then leaving the group. If you delete a group, you will no longer see it in your chat list and the chat history will also be deleted from your phone. Other participants will still see the group in their chat lists, but will not be able to send messages.

Maybe you did not know, but WhatsApp also has the ability to take down specific groups that don’t meet the rules.

Delete a group from WhatsApp

But how can you do it? Since WhatsApp cannot read chats within its own service for security reasons, because messages, media and calls are end-to-end encrypted, according to the experts at WABetaInfothe moderation team uses advanced machine learning technology based on the registered information of the bad groups ”.

In this way, WhatsApp can automatically terminate groups when they are reported multiple times by different users, or the group has suspicious information, as names and descriptions of illegal groups. In this case, the group can be deleted automatically or manually. When a group closes, its participants they can no longer send messages or read chat history, nor will they be able to open the group information and read the list of other participants.


Enlarge

Prevent your WhatsApp group from being closed

Yes indeed: WhatsApp offers the possibility to contact customer service within the finalized group, to be able to submit a request to restore it. Although it must be taken into account that the platform can “prohibit group administrators from using the WhatsApp service ”.

What can you do to be safe?

  • It is important be careful with the groups you are in– If you see a suspicious group, you should report it and leave it immediately.
  • Another option is to select the option “My contacts except … “, which prevents them from being forcibly added to a group. It’s in Settings> Accounts> Privacy> Groups> My contacts except.
  • If you are a group administrator, you must restrict who can change the subject and description of the group, selecting “Administrators only” within the group settings. This is due to the possibility that a user account has been stolen from malicious people, so they cannot change the group name using an illegal one. They can make WhatsApp systems ban the entire group, for example by making multiple participants administrators and choosing illegal information from the group.
  • If you are not the group administrator, explain to the admins why it is important to protect the group.

.

Article Source

Disclaimer: This article is generated from the feed and not edited by our team.