There are thousands of videos that appear every day on TikTok, the most popular and trendy social network in the world today, so protecting its users is a concern for creators.
In TikTok it is valued “Authenticity, and we take our responsibility to help counter content that is not authentic, misleading or false very seriously”. Thus “We eliminate misinformation as we identify it”, but first it must be verified.
Avoid misinformation on TikTok
In TikTok, false information is eliminated as soon as it is identified, and also, thanks to the collaboration with verifiers, such as Newtral and SciVerify, the accuracy of the content can be evaluated. If the checks confirm that the content is fake, the video will be removed from the platform.
But on some occasions, the content verifications are inconclusive or the content cannot be verified, especially at the moment when events are unfolding. In these cases, the video may no longer be recommended to users in the For you section, “in order to try to limit the dissemination of potentially misleading information ”. This is where the new feature of the app that has already been activated comes into play: the ‘Content not verified’ notice.
What is Unverified TikTok Content
The aim of the app is a community that encourages creativity and free expression, avoiding the dissemination of uncertain or misleading content
Therefore, when a video that has content that has not yet been verified by Logically or TikTok – or that it has been, but the results are not yet conclusive – and is going to be shared, the user who is going to do it you will receive a notification that there is unverified content in that video, leaving the decision in your hands. This is how the system works:
- First, you get a banner in a video if its content has been reviewed but cannot be conclusively validated.
- The creator of the video too you will be notified that your video has been flagged as untested content.
- If you try to share the marked video, you will see a notice that it will remind you that the video has been marked as unverified content. This additional step requires a pause for people to consider their next move before choosing to “cancel” or “share anyway.”
Reduce the impact of misinformation
According to TikTok, the system has been designed and tested with Irrational Labs, a behavioral science lab, and “In fact, when we tested this approach, we saw that viewers decreased the rate at which they shared videos by 24%While the likes of such unsubstantiated content also decreased by 7%.